About Us

The Water Front Center

Established in 2000, The WaterFront Center is a 501(c)(3) non-for-profit organization offering a diverse selection of programs and activities to people of all ages, backgrounds, and abilities. Each year, we provide engaging hands-on activities to more than 20,000 students, families, veterans, and people with disabilities to help them learn about and appreciate the marine environment.

Our Vision

Our Values

Our Team


Our Vision

In 10 years, people from all walks of life will have access to a clean and healthy bay, and many families and friends will be sailing together in boats rented from or built at The WaterFront Center.

Maximizing use of the unique public facilities on the Western Waterfront developed under the leadership of Senator Carl Marcellino by the NYS Department of Environmental Conservation and the Town of Oyster Bay, The WaterFront Center will be providing skills and equipment for anyone to get out on the water for learning and enjoyment. The WaterFront Center will have reached and engaged students from Pre-K through High School, college and late adulthood in marine environmental science and building, maintaining and handling boats. Their stewardship will ensure the bay's continued health.

Our Values

  • We believe that everyone should have access to the waters of Oyster Bay.
  • We believe in protecting and preserving the estuary environment.
  • We believe that stewardship stems from knowledge, appreciation and personal connection.
  • We believe that learning is shaped and made permanent through enthusiasm, active engagement, discovery and enjoyment.
  • We believe in encouraging environmentally sound recreation on the Bay that uses renewable energy such as sailing & kayaking.
  • We believe that shared pleasurable experiences create lasting multigenerational bonds and build community.
  • We believe it is necessary to have an expert teaching staff and a wide range of quality programs.
  • We believe safety is essential in everything we do.
  • We believe in fun.


Executive Board

Ian N.H. Gumprecht - President
George J. Ellis - Vice President
Howard Szarfarc - Treasurer
Tim Dooley - Secretary

Board of Trustees

George D. Baker
Claudio Crivici
Jamie Deming
Gerald Lalonde
Bryan H. Lawrence
Janine M. Lizza
Willets S. Meyer
Kathryn E. Morse
Alexander J. Smith

Advisory Board

Eugene H. Kaplan, PhD
Mary Alice Kolodner
Diane McGaw
John McGrane
David Relyea
Clint Smith
James D. Weinman


Meet Our Team

John Brendel
Waterfront Coordinator
Aaron Cuison
Outreach Coordinator
Molly Hastings
Cameron Jenness
Education Director
MacKenzie McGuckin
Sailing Director